I am a strong woman….or am I? 

Hello everyone. I know I’ve been away for a while, and I’m sorry about that.

As I sit cross-legged on the floor in my sweatpants and a shirt, I am prompted to do a spur of the moment post. Please forgive any errors, I’m trying to keep my mind on both the post I’m writing, and the serie I’m watching.

So, today is International Women’s Day, and I’ve gotten almost 10 post notifications on this same topic, my bank deemed it fit to send me emails (when money would’ve been more useful), WhatsApp chats wishing me Happy Women’s Day, bla bla bla.

Well, while everyone was going on about women being strong and all that, I, Ihuoma Okpara, decided to do something that some ’empowered’ women would think of as weak.

I went to see my ex

Yes, my ex.Ex as in ex-boyfriend, ex as in previous boyfriend, ex as in the guy that I was dating and then broke up with. 

Also, an ex that I still have feelings for, an ex that my best friend became a total stranger to me because she didn’t like him (we’re cool now), and a whole lot of other things, but an ex is an ex for a reason right?

Keep in mind that there was no pleading, no threatening, no one forced me. I went willingly. 

And just in case you were wondering, yes, I do have a wonderful guy that I’m dating now. To answer your other question, yes, he knows I still keep in touch with my ex because we spoke about it just yesterday. To answer your final question, although I didn’t tell him directly, he definitely knows I went to see my ex, because he’s smart like that (we will still have a lengthy discussion about my visit).

Thankfully, nothing went down at his house. Hurray for self-control!!! 

Now, you might read this and shake your head in pity, and probably say something about me having to work on myself or something along that line, and I do appreciate your love and care. Please do keep at it.

To be very honest, I really don’t have a solid reason as to why I wrote this post. I think it’s probably because I want people to see that I go through the same things other people go through, that I can relate to what other people face. Yes, Ihuoma dropped three posts on Loving like Christ back to back, but that does not mean I think people who have issues with their love lives are horrible (that would make me a hypocrite anyway), or that people who struggle with loving the right way are headed straight to hell. 

I have been through so many things that I get some things that people would see as wack. I try not judge people (believe me, it’s easier said than done). I even fall into the category of people that have ‘innocent’ faces (lol, thank God!), but mehhhhnnnnn…. 

Please do not think I am the ‘bestest’ person out there, I’m still far from that, but I am striving towards reaching perfection like Christ.

On a lighter note, I helped my cousin with this homework and this was his drawing of a computer mouse.

A computer mouse (courtesy my 4 year old cousin)

​I didn’t even learn about computers in school till I was in Primary 2, thankfully, we already had one at home before then. My cousin is in Reception 2. Please what is Reception 2? Is it a new name for Primary 2? I’m honestly not understanding what all these newly formed classes are about. 
In my time, after nursery school, you went straight to primary school.

*Releases pent-up breath*

I am finally done with my rambling, thank goodness.

Have a wonderful day, or night, and keep striving towards perfection.

I love you all,

Ihuoma.

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I know that feeling of going to see a ex even when there is a wonderful guy on board. Thanks for spilling your thoughts

    Like

  2. A loves B , B still have feelings for C, C probably doesn’t knw A , but A do C, n B is comfortable bcos she knows she has A n C almost where she wants em…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Keep being real👌😊💓

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Lol. All I kept saying was ‘Ewo! Ewo! Ewooo!’ Lol. Happy International Women’s Day sha. That’s one extra goodwill message for the day. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

