Loving Like Christ(3)

Happy Sunday everyone. Welcome back to my blog.

February is almost overrrrrr, can I get a whoop whoop?

As I promised, today, I’ll be posting the third and final part of the three-part series Loving like Christ. You can read the first and second part of the series here and here.

N.B: My posts are an expression of my ideas and understanding, please do not limit your knowledge on this topic to my posts alone. Read more, ask the Holy Spirit to teach you, learn from fellow believers, seek wisdom, knowledge and understanding. God bless you!!

Now, to our gist for today.

  1. Love never gives up, never loses faith, is always hopeful, and endures through every circumstance.

These are a lot of things to include in one point, so I’ll break this one BIG point into four sub-points.

i. Love never gives up.

To love like Christ does, we need to never give up on others. Avoid condemning others because you feel they piss you off, or are beneath you. I get that sometimes we have to stay away and fashi people because of the way they act towards us (it’s actually not a bad thing, because, you are the people you hang out with), but try not to make it a constant habit. Don’t just go around x-ing people (on some Charles Xavier stuffs). Before you give up on that person, try having a chit-chat with them where you talk things over. Who knows, you might just find out that you would’ve lost out on something amazing he/she had to offer.

ii. Love never loses faith

Jesus had faith. He believed in his father, and in the assignment he was sent to earth to do. This led him to go all out with what his father sent him to do.

Relating this to us, we should not give up on what God has sent us to do; to love everyone. Do not think that anyone is beneath your love. I’m sure that if Jesus thought that way, we’d all probably still be dead in sin. Jesus’ love for us is the ultimate. He loved us to the extent that he never lost faith in us. He still kept at his assigned duty, even when we misbehaved. Now, do your best to reciprocate this love that has faith in humanity. Love unconditionally, love with faith.

iii. Love is always hopeful

Love never loses hope. Love is always hopeful.

I don’t really have much to say on this, but I think it still kind of relates to the sub-points above.  Love unconditionally. Lovingly wish the best for people.

Another way to interpret this sub-point, is to say that the love of Christ was so deep that he never lost hope in us. Jesus always held out his love to others, even when it seemed like they would reject it. He had hope in our acceptance of his love.

You should extend this same hopefulness in the way you extend your love to others.

iv. Love endures through every circumstance

We all know Jesus died for us (if you didn’t; now you do). Imagine knowing your end point was death, would you still go ahead to love people? If people were flogging you with whips, just because you refused to put a stop to your love for others, would you keep on loving? If you knew your friends would deny you, would you still go ahead to love them? If your landlord threatens to throw you out because your rent is due, would you still show him love? If your boss slashes your salary in half, would you still show him love?

I think we get what I’m driving at here.

Let your love remain even if things go wrong. Love others even if they do things that should make us act otherwise. If Jesus’ love didn’t endure all that happened to him, he probably would’ve been like; “Nope, lai lai, I can’t do this no more. This people I’m even trying to help are acting up”, then he probably would’ve gone back to heaven, straight up. But he didn’t, his love endured, and he loved us no matter what happened to him. Can we all love like that?

 

Now that we’re done with that, I’ve got a confession to make. I admit I still fall short of loving like Christ does a whole lot of times, but I strive to get to it. Please do not feel bad if you haven’t been loving the way Christ did. I want you to know that it is never too late to begin your journey of loving the right way.images-1

Remember the Holy Spirit is ever ready to teach us ALL things. Ask him to help you, and I’m sure he will.

Thank you very much for staying till the end of this series. I appreciate your commitment. If you still want to catch up on the previous posts, you can do so here and here.

God bless you, and have a wonderful week.

 

With lots of love ♥,

Ihuoma.

4 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This was really a bone of contention for me, anybody can just up and say ‘I Love you’ I’ve been guilty of that severally but I made a decision to know how to Love Christ, fully embrace Christ’s Love for me and then I’ll know how to truly Love others wholeheartedly. Thank you so much for the three-part series, its been a real booster. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good write up, pray you continue to receive the divine inspiration you need to inspire others.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

